day 7, body.

I’m 40 and feeling it.

Not in that I got fit before I hit 40 kind of way neither.  More in the oh my god I need to get it moving before it falls off kind of way.

I can’t climb up steps without getting winded.

When I look into the mirror, I cringe at how big I have gotten all around.

Ugh…. but here’s the thing I know for sure, I can get back into shape because I have done it before.

However, I was not married, did not have kids or a full-time job (I was working as a temp) and could plan my whole day around going to the gym and eating perfectly timed meals whose nutritional breakdown I knew like a second social security number.

I have decided to start with a small goal – walk everyday for 15 minutes.

That’s it.

I need to start small to get used to moving again and to carve out that small me time without thinking of all the things I need to get done.  If I had to figure out how to get an hour of me time right now to work out at the gym (never mind commute to the gym and the price of a gym membership these days), I will get stuck on what I cannot do right now.

Let me focus on what I can do right now even if it seems to be such a small step in the right direction.

I will get there slow and steady – especially since I am looking to gain all those long term benefits from being consistent with healthy habits versus declaring a quick victory on a scale.

Leave a Reply

